Mavericks Invitational is ON
Mavericks Invitational is ON

The Mavericks Invitational has been given the green light by event organisers, with the worlds 24 most daring big wave surfers set to take on ‘challenging’ and ‘dangerous’ conditions.

With a swell generated by a storm in the Pacific, the Body Glove Mavericks Invitational presented by GoPro is set for waves of between 30-40 feet or bigger. Event organiser Jeff Clark said, “It looks like we’re going to have an amazing contest. We should see sets over 40 feet.”

With all big wave events weather remains unpredictable and forecasters harbour only slight concerns that the south winds could materialise making the waves unrideable. However, lead forecaster for the event, Mark Sponsler is confident that, ‘The winds will be calm and the ocean will be glassy.’

The Mavericks Invitational is a single day invitation only competition held at the legendary Mavericks break located near Half Moon Bay. Participants are nominated by a committee comprising Mavericks surfer and pioneer Jeff Clark, Big Wave World Tour founder Gary Linden, 3 time Mavericks champion Darryl Virostko and big waver surfer Greg Long and Shawn Dollar. The nominations are then sent to 2013’s competitors and alternates who are given the opportunity to vote on who they believe should participate in the event.

This years Mavericks Invitational lineup includes;

Heat 1

Jamie Sterling (Hawaii), Anthony Tashnick (Santa Cruz), Mark Healey (Hawaii), Ken ‘Skindog’ Collins (Santa Cruz), Ryan Augenstein (Santa Cruz) and Chris Bertish (South Africa).

Heat 2

Colin Dwyer (Pacifica), Grant Washburn (San Francisco), Dave Wassel (Hawaii), Tyler Fox (Santa Cruz), Ryan Seelbach (San Francisco) and Peter Mel (Sanra Cruz)

Heat 3

Zach Wormhoudt (Santa Cruz), Nic Lamb (Santa Cruz), Ben Wilkinson (Australia), Shane Dorian (Hawaii), Greg Long (San Clemente) and Carlos Burle (Brazil).

Heat 4

Rusty Long (San Clemente), Nathan Fletcher (San Clemente), Shawn Dollar (Santa Cruz), Kohl Christensen (Hawaii), Alex Martins (Brazil) and Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker (South Africa)

The alternates are Shane Desmond (Australia), Danilo Couto (Brazil), Derek Dunfee (San Diego), Kelly Slater (Cocoa Beach Florida), Tyler Smith (Santa Cruz) and Frank Solomon (South Africa).

Catch the Body Glove Mavericks Invitational presented by GoPro live on or


The comments are closed